Early morning walk. Weeks of hibernation in my brother’s place here in San Pablo City, Philippines, I finally made it out in the open. My Kuya Ray and sister in law Ate Ayo took me to Sampaloc Lake to get some fresh air and a test run if I’m getting far better with my recovery from a respiratory infection. (And so far I’m doing great!)

Sun was already up and my oximeter is beeping for rest. We were looking for a nice coffee shop along the way and since it was Labor Day, most of the stores we checked were closed. We reached the monument of a big fish and saw a sign board says “Mushroom tempura”. uhm i got curious. (And i also saw the sign coffee so I say go).

I immediately checked the menu and uhmm everything says mushroom. Mushroom this. Mushroom that and I was like, yeah i won’t bother asking what their specialty is. Since I like mushroom, i tried most of the items in the menu (those that are available lol).

Mushroom Tempura

The typical tempura style of cooking tempura, but this time instead of using shrimp, they used mushroom as the meat and just coated with tempura breading, deep fried in coconut oil.

It does feel like its tempura or the feel is like eating onion rings. The texture and the taste with a simple thousand island dressing is a high score 9! You need to eat it while it still hot because you might miss the crunchiness but none the less it will still taste good.

Mushroom Sisig

Oh Sisig for me is synonymous to favourite. It was the first one I ordered. Chopped mushroom, cooked ala sisig style with garlic, onions and green chili.

I love sisig and this experience is a big WHOA! It does feel like meat. They don’t serve rice but but its fine. I was worried about the size of the serving at first but we were surprised how the taste exploded, way bigger than its mini bowl. DELICIOUS!

Mushroom Coffee

Batangas Kape Barako with a twist! Brewed Coffee grounds with Mushroom.

 I was really curious about it, i mean I’m a coffee lover and i haven’t tasted a cup with mushroom. It’s plainly brewed in a humble coffee maker but they added pieces of mushroom in to the coffee grounds. YUM!

Mushroom Burger

Mushroom chopped and mashed finely, mixed with their distinct ingredients to make a patty. Fried in coconut oil, placed in a bed of Tomatoes Lettuce and Cucumber and grilled bread.

Burger lover me fled with glee in the rainbow of happiness. The thick patty tastes so yummy. It’s so juicy and even if there’s no cheese in the sandwich, it’s cheesy. My brother and my sister in law loved it too! It topped everything that we have in the table. This marks my San Pablo experience. I’ll keep on coming back home because of this too.

I was also told that it was the first mushroom burger they served to a customer since they opened and I’m so honourned to be the lucky one.

Oyster Mushroom aka “Pleurotus ostreatus”, the oyster mushroom, is a common edible mushroom. It was first cultivated in Germany as a subsistence measure during World War I and is now grown commercially around the world for food. It is related to the similarly cultivated “king oyster mushroom”. Oyster mushrooms can also be used industrially for mycoremediation purposes. The oyster mushroom is one of the more commonly sought wild mushrooms, though it can also be cultivated on straw and other media. It has the bittersweet aroma of benzaldehyde (which is also characteristic of anise or almonds). [expedia.org]

Hanging bags of “kusot” saw dusts are adorned in the restaurant and you can actually see the mushrooms where they grow and get cultivated. They harvest it, prepare it and serve it in front of your eyes. You can also purchase a bag and get a hang of growing your won oyster mushroom garden for only 50 php per bag. In a matter of days after sprinkling some water, you will see those sprouts coming out!

The 3 young good looking business partners are friends from a religious community in San Pablo and the concept of the restaurant was also consulted from one of their mentor / pastor. I spoke with the two guys and that’s what they told me. Not sure if they are single though but yeah, they are cute :p

“Kubote” was derived from the words “Kubo” Nipa hut and “Kabute” means mushroom. The mini restaurant just launched a couple of weeks ago and is located along Sampaloc Lake. There’s like a big fish statue near it and it’s near a long blue stairway.

Over all, the restaurant’s ambiance gives a cool and relaxing feel as it’s across the lake and the food for me is a

PERFECT 10!

(We’ll minus the loud music playing nearby 😦 )

Coming from Manila, you can take a bus going to Lucena and drop off in “Medical in San Pablo”  approx. 127 php (you’ll see Jollibee and Chowking) and take a 20 to 30 php tricycle ride going to Sampaloc lake as per my cousin Marvin lol.

Store can accommodate a max of 16 pax

7:00 AM to 7:00 PM Weekdays

6:00 AM to 7:00 PM Weekends.

3 thoughts on “Kubote Mushroom Restaurant San Pablo City Laguna

  1. The place were nice and the food were just so yummy. I just want to ask how can we get there from Calamba, Laguna. Im very interested because were conducting a research study regarding mushroom growers here in thr Philippines. Hoping for considering this comment and your response will be very much appreciated. Thank you so much. Godbless.

    1. Hi Cathie! Thanks for your comment. I asked my brother about the restaurant and he said it was relocated. he said we can as the tricycle drivers on how to go to Kubute. I haven’t been there for quite sometime too but once I get an update on their new address I’ll post it here. Good luck on your project and I hope you’ll get more information soon. God Bless too and take care.

Leave a Reply

